English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

The Co-Chair of the Parliamentary All Party Betting & Gaming Group (APBGG) calls on all gambling industry conference and exhibition organisers to boycott Russian speakers and exhibitors

Westminster, London: Today, Scott Benton MP, Co-Chair of the Parliamentary All Party Betting & Gaming Group said:

‘As Co-Chair of the Parliamentary All Party Betting & Gaming Group, I call upon the organisers of all gambling industry conferences and exhibitions to confirm that they will not be hosting any Russian speakers or exhibitors at their forthcoming events. Russia has attacked Ukraine in an un-provoked and barbarous manner and has broken international law. It is absolutely correct that the international community is imposing severe economic sanctions on this now pariah state and we would expect this to be followed by those who profit from the British gambling industry.’

The Parliamentary All-Party Betting & Gaming Group was set up by a group of Parliamentarians, who had taken part in the numerous debates on what would become the Gambling Act 2005. They wished to continue their interest in the British gambling industry and have over the years become respected as some of the most knowledgeable Parliamentarians on the subject.

Members of the Group are often the main contributors to any gambling debate in either House and their views are highly regarded in Westminster, Whitehall and Downing Street. The Group maintains a view that gambling should be legal and well-regulated but beyond that, encompasses a wide spectrum of beliefs into the extent and scope of gambling provision that should be allowed. Above all the Group wishes to engage with the stakeholders in the UK gambling industry, learn from them to educate the debate, while maintaining an independence of views.

Please note: This is not an official press release of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its Committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues.